Application for a New License
If you are NOT
a Kansas Resident or
if you already hold a license in another state, please click here
- At Least 18 Years of Age
- High School Diploma or Equivalent
- Pre-License Education.
- Salesperson: Principles of Real Estate course (30 hours) and Kansas Practice course (30 hours).
- Broker: Broker Pre-License Course (24 hours)
- KBI/FBI Background Check. Fingerprint cards are available from course providers, at KS licensing exam centers, or may be requested from the Kansas Real Estate Commission. Download instructions and Waiver form (REL-150).
- Licensing Exam. Pass both the general and state sections within 12 months of completing the Pre-License Education.
- Download the Candidate Handbook at www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate/ for information on exam scheduling and procedures.
- A License Application is provided with the passing exam score.
- License Application. Must be filed within one of the time frames listed below, whichever occurs earliest:
- Six months of the exam pass date. If sections were passed on different dates, the earlier date starts the clock; or
- Six months of the earliest document date (ex. Certificates, Reports, etc.).
- Salesperson Application.
- The Application must be signed by a supervising or branch broker who will be responsible for supervising the applicant's real estate activities and who will certify that the applicant is honest, trustworthy and of good reputation.
- A new salesperson license expires according to a staggered renewal schedule based on the first letter of the last name. Twelve hours of continuing education will be required by the first renewal due date. If the license expires less than 6 months from issuance, however, the 12 hours are not due until the second renewal date. License numbers for licensees in this category will begin with the letters “SA”.
- An original license cannot be issued on inactive status.
- Additional Supporting Documentation (see below)
- Broker Application.
- The Application must be signed by a supervising broker or a branch broker if the applicant is not applying to be a supervising broker.If applying to be a supervising broker or branch broker of a new office, complete the Open Company Form
- Complete the experience section of the application in detail.
- Experience Requirements for Broker's License:
- Licensed as a salesperson in Kansas, or as a salesperson or broker in another state, and ACTIVELY ENGAGED for at least 2 years out of the last 5 years in activities which require a real estate license in Kansas. Qualifying licensed real estate activities must be for compensation and on behalf of a client or customer.
- These are the minimum requirements necessary for Commission staff to approve a broker application based on the delegated powers of the Commission to the staff.
- If an applicant does not meet any of the criteria above the application will be forwarded to Commission members for review. The Commission will approve, approve with restrictions and/or conditions, or deny your application based on their evaluation of the information provided.
- Experience in the real estate or a related business or a combination of such experience and education may be accepted if the Commission believes it qualifies the applicant to act as a broker. Real estate related experience in the activities below can be considered by the Commission.
- Include with your application a resume or position description for consideration of these activities. A letter of recommendation from the supervising broker is required for consideration of activities as a Transaction Manager, Transaction Administrator, Licensed Assistant, or Real Estate Office Trainer.
- Documentation of real estate related education such as a Bachelor’s Degree or Minor in Real Estate and national or local designations will also be considered by the Commission.
Submit the following with the license application:
- License History Certification for any real estate license ever held in any state or jurisdiction other than Kansas. Certification may be filed with the License Application or emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org. This must be received no later than six months from the issue date shown on the certification. When requesting certification by the Missouri Real Estate Commission, the inclusion of pre-license education and exam information on certifications must be specifically requested.
- Supporting documentation concerning any of the following:
- denial, revocation, suspension, voluntary surrender of license or any other disciplinary action taken against any professional or occupational license or certificate ever held by the applicant (include a copy of the disciplinary order and explanation);
- real estate related litigation filed against the applicant or a real estate company owned in whole or part by the applicant (include a copy of the complaint and explanation;
- any pending criminal charges filed against the applicant (including all misdemeanors other than minor traffic violations) and a letter from the applicant's proposed supervising broker stating they're aware of the charges and willing to supervise the applicant. Required documentation includes a copy of the ticket/complaint, the judgment and sentencing order, proof of release from any probation or parole, a letter from the applicant explaining the offense;
- any conviction of a criminal offense (including all misdemeanors other than minor traffic violations) and a letter from the applicant's proposed supervising broker stating they're aware of the charges and willing to supervise the applicant. Required documentation includes a copy of the ticket/complaint, the judgment and sentencing order, proof of release from any probation or parole, a letter from the applicant explaining the offense; and
- any diversion or suspended imposition of sentence for a criminal offense (including all misdemeanors other than minor traffic violations). Required documentation includes a copy of the ticket/complaint, the diversion agreement or order of suspended imposition of sentence, proof of completion of the diversion or suspended imposition of sentence, a letter from the applicant explaining the offense, and a letter from the supervising/branch broker indicating they have reviewed the pertinent court records and are willing to supervise the applicant.
- If you have questions about what constitutes a minor traffic offense, please click on this link to review K.S.A. 8-2118.
3. If the applicant is reporting disciplinary action, charges, or convictions, the Commission recommends submission of the following:
- Letters of recommendation or character references
- Certificates of completion for any treatment, therapy, victim panel, or group program
- A resume that includes scholastic, community, volunteer, and work experience
- A statement regarding the applicant's character, the nature and extent of any rehabilitation, or extenuating or mitigating circumstances concerning illegal activities or conduct
- Order, petitions, complaints, settlement agreements, judgments, permits, or other court documents relevant to any offense
An applicant's license may be restricted or denied pursuant to K.S.A. 58-3043
, which allows the Commission to consider the applicant's or licensee's criminal history or any other matters the Commission deems pertinent.
There is a $15.00 application fee, this fee is non-refundable.
Background Check Fee
There is a $60.00 fee for background checks, this fee is non-refundable.
The fee for a license varies, depending on the first letter of the applicant's last name. License expiration dates are staggered over a two-year period with a different group of the alphabet expiring every other month. A prorated portion of the full two-year fee is calculated based on the amount of time remaining from the date the license is issued to the expiration date. Below are links to the table showing all prorated fees, and to a calculator for individual licensees.
It is a State of Kansas policy to deposit all checks immediately upon receipt even if a license application has not been processed, is incomplete, or under review. Should an application be denied or never made complete, the prorated license fee is refunded.