COMMISSION NEWS

Newsletter from the Kansas Real Estate Commission



Upcoming Commission Meetings:

- February 18
- April 15

Meetings are open to the public and located at the Commission office in Topeka.

If you plan to attend, please call the office to confirm the date, time, and location. Click **here** for more information.

Connect with KREC:

- Facebook
- Twitter

Licenses must be renewed every two years.

Check your renewal date here.

Commission Check In Email

Recently, all licensees received an email from KREC titled *Commission Check In* that posed the question, "Who is in violation of Kansas real estate license law?" This email was prepared by Commission staff to provide an overview of common violations and provide licensees with the opportunity to test their knowledge of BRRETA and license law.

The Commission plans to periodically provide these different scenarios for educational purposes. The questions and answers posed are examples only, as different facts in a case may result in a different outcome. If you did not receive the Commission Check In, login to **E-GOV** to ensure your email address on file is current.

Visit **E-GOV** to:

- ⇒ Renew a license
- ⇒ Check CE credit
- ⇒ Request duplicate pocket card
- ⇒ Change contact information
- ⇒ Verify licensure for another state

New Licensing Requirements

Several changes to **licensing requirements** went into effect on January 1, 2019.

• For new licenses, the license expiration date will be the first day of the month of issuance two years after the date of issuance.

For example, a license issued on Jan. 15, 2019 will expire Jan. 1, 2021. If a salesperson is granted a broker's license, he or she would have a new expiration date based on the same calculation method. Any license issued prior to Jan. 1, 2019 will keep the same expiration date currently in effect unless the license type is changed or the license lapses and application for a new license must be made.

A change of last name no longer impacts the license expiration date, so no prorated fees or refunds are necessary.

Continued on page 2...



Happy New Year!

From,
The Commission staff

KREC.KS.GOV

krec@ks.gov (785) 296-3411

Jayhawk Tower 700 SW Jackson St., Ste. 404 Topeka, KS 66603

- The fee for submission of a broker application increased from \$15 to \$50.
- The fee to open a primary or branch office increased from \$25 to \$100.
- The requirements for reporting litigation and criminal charges were modified. The Commission encourages all licensees to review those requirements by viewing K.A.R. 86-3-15.

These changes are the result of regulation revisions approved by the Commission on November 19, 2018.

Statutory Changes Proposed by the Commission

The Commission is proposing several statutory changes to licensing requirements, including:

- Reducing the timeframe for considering real estate transactions from five years to three
 years immediately preceding the date of a broker application. The requirement to have
 two years of experience during that timeframe would remain. This change is recommended to emphasize recent experience with real estate transactions.
- Increasing the required broker pre-license education hours from 24 hours to between 60 and 90 hours.
- Removing the late fee for renewals completed one month before the expiration date. The late fee for licenses renewed within the six month window after the expiration date would still be charged a late fee. However, that fee would increase from \$50 to \$100.
- Other technical changes are being proposed to eliminate antiquated terminology and obsolete language contained in statute.

Disciplinary Actions

Below are disciplinary actions with effective dates of November 15, 2018 or later with respect to revocations, suspensions, and aggregate fines of greater than \$500. A licensee is listed twice if they received more than one action (i.e. suspension and fine).

Docket Number	Last Name	First Name	License Number	Violation	Legal Action	Effective Date
19-7402	Jones	Thomas	00001969	Audit	Fine	12/7/2018
19-7343	Lynch	George	00053988	Audit	Fine	11/16/2018
19-7409	Mathis	James	00050200	Audit	Fine	12/3/2018
19-7411	Nechita	Jennifer	00236761	Audit	Fine	12/3/2018
19-7312	Smith	Sloane	00237583	Failure to Comply with an Order or Directive	License Suspended	11/16/2018

COMMISSION MEMBERS

Bryon Schlosser, Chair, 2nd District | **Joseph Vaught**, Vice Chair, 3rd District **Errol Wuertz**, 1st District | **Sue Wenger**, 4th District | **Connie O'Brien**, Member at Large

Erik Wisner, Executive Director

The mission of the Kansas Real Estate Commission is to protect the public interest, which embraces both the interests of the regulated real estate licensees and the interests of consumers who use their services and products.